Sloth

One of the most difficult stuggles of having ADHD is the temptation of the quick and easy.  I need something to do.  I could go for a run.  But then I have to put on my layers of winter running clothes. My music device is touchy in the cold so I don’t even want to deal with that. Then there’s coming back. Peeling off all the clothes; and it’s practically a whole load of laundry by itself!  Or, there’s the Playstation 3. All I have to do is turn it on.

Don’t even get me started on food.  Home made meals are better for us but require so much work. And then there’s the clean up.  The dishes are already piled up and making food is going to take time and make more dirty dishes. Taco Bell doesn’t require dishes, though.  And it’s so good.  

Then there’s the kids.  They trash the house.  It’s like Toys R Us threw up in my living room.  At that point I just shut down. Its too easy to just avoid or ignore there mess than to deal with the anxiety of trying to clean it all up.  I end up couch bound more often than not.  Its depressing and its like any motivation I have is literally sucked out of me.  My mind shuts off and I shut down. 

Its involuntary and it sucks and eventually I will snap and go for an angry run and feel better. Until then its a battle to keep from drinking my problems away. This time of year I purposely stay away from alcohol more often than not because it’s too much of a temptation.  This blog took me 3 days to write. I am just drained.

Leave a Reply

