Acceptance ≠ Confidence

13507138_1491203500984578_2671851199493805566_n

Acceptance does not equal confidence.  not for me.  it equals fear.  nerves. baldness.  back-up underwear, just in case.

 

It is so weird, being accepted as a part of a community.  I still consider it a new feeling, people who understand what I’m going though.  I’m always afraid I’m going to let a few too may people in, and suddenly I’ll act up, get a little chatty or hyper, and it’ll be just like high school…

I am slowly, hesitantly wading into the ADHD groups on Social Media a little more, and it scares the hell out of me.  I have worked in customer service over the phone long enough to know how to sound and act like I’m comfortable, but now there’s video messaging and live interactions and these people already know each other and they have confidence and they’re all besties and I’m this new kid…  I’m tellin’ ya, it’s freaking scary!

We all have to face our fears, and I’m facing mine.  Maybe I’ll be besties too.  I’ve lurked in the shadows of the ADHD groups on Facebook, popping up to add my 2 cents here and there, so maybe it won’t be so bad as moving to a new school in a new city in a new state…

twitch

 

Leave a Reply

