Gotta Run

Wednesday, 6-1-2016

The hardest part about trying to get back to running is the urge to procrastinate.  Specifically, I really, REALLY don’t want to get out of bed in the morning.  This morning I did not run, even though I had planned to.  In fact, I slept in my running clothes to make it easier.  But when my alarm went off…

wp-1464361275485.pngSo I just told myself, as I’ve done plenty of times before, that I will just run tonight.  The problem is that by the end of the day, I have nothing left in the tank to try to go for a run.

wp-1464799756305.pngSo, just as I have many times before, I will likely go without a run today.  To make things worse, this will probably happen the next run day too, and before I know it, I’ll have gone through this same process for weeks and not get a single run in.  The small, often hard to find part of me which knows beyond the shadow of a doubt that this is something I need to do is somewhere in the far recesses of my mind screaming My GOD, Man; JUST DO IT!

wp-1464799934177.pngSo today I will break the cycle.

I will run this evening and I will be glad I did, then I will run again Friday morning, and then I will get a long run in this weekend.  This has to happen.  I lost almost 30 lbs between January 1st and May 1st, and now I’ve gained about 5 lbs back.  If I don’t get my act together, I will be back where I started.

Leave a Reply

