Maybe I’ll run tomorrow

The ratio of time’s I’ve said I’ll run tomorrow and times that I’ve actually done it is looking pretty bad.  That said, this morning I said it.  “I’ll run this afternoon or tomorrow.  I’m just too tired.”  But then I replied’ “Dude, how many times do you say that and end up going a week without running?!”

So out the door I went, and put in 2.5 mi.  My general rule is to put in at least 3 days per week, no less than 2 mi per run, with at least one longer run (4+mi) each week.  I have fallen off pretty badly for the last 6 weeks or so.  I was sick with some serious lung butter and because I couldn’t breath, I didn’t run.  Now I’m trying to get back on the bandwagon and it’s tough.  I had lost quite a bit of weight, and now I’ve gained 10 lbs back.  I want to lose it within the next 2 weeks if possible.

There are a couple key points to make here.

  • first – I use running and other activities to help provide the stimulation I need to function normally due to my ADHD.  So when I give it up for too long, I suffer in my performance and behavior at work and at home.  I’m a 35 year old father of 3, I can’t exactly misbehave as a grown-ass man.  So there’s that.
  • second – Procrastination is a huge issue for me, and if I don’t stick to a routine, if I try to break from it for just a day, bad things happen.  Like, I go weeks without a run.  The more I follow a routine, the easier things are to stay on top of.  However, it’s so easy to say “I’ll just do it tomorrow instead” and that’s a problem.

This is all well and good to know, but none of it matters unless I actively pursue corrective action.  So here I am, getting back on it while I’m still ahead of the game (meaning I have still kept off most of the almost 30 lbs I lost this year and I want to get back to it ASAP).  Back to Mon, Wed, Fri and/or one weekend day of running and some form of activity (weights, walking, riding my bike, Just Dance with the kids) the other days to keep things moving forward.

Leave a Reply

