My Road to a Healthier Life

Update:  The struggle goes on.  I am still battling to get back in shape.  I am more motivated than ever, though.  My lifestyle is simply not developed and consistent enough and I need to get better.

Thursday, May 15, 2014

My road to a Healthier life

Before I get into the meat of the topic, let me summarize the back story.  At the end of April, I went in for my yearly check up, and my blood work came back with some less than desirable results.  I have been trying to motivate myself to live a healthier lifestyle, and this was the kick in the nuts I needed.  My Dr. told me I have a fatty liver, and my cholesterol has skyrocketed.  Now, my Dr. is a pretty laid back guy.  I am used to his usual speech: “you’re still young, and while you’re a bit over weight, it’s not terrible.” He’d give me some suggestions to change my health for the better, and say that whether I do them is my business.  This time, not so much.
He said the usual, but then said that I am at that point where if I don’t start making changes, things are going to get worse, and it will be harder to reverse. He told me that I HAVE TO start making changes, it’s really no longer an option if I don’t want serious problems to develop.

so here I am a few weeks-ish later.  I have lowered my carb intake quite a bit, though I still have a sandwich from time to time.  I have cut back a lot on candy, though I still have some now and then.  I eat a crap load of veggies like bell peppers, onions, and broccoli; along with more leafy greens.  I have also started eating more fish (mostly Tuna, and some Salmon).  I haven’t change a whole lot regarding exercise, going for a run here and there, and a lot of stretching while I’m at work.

time for the drum roll…

I have dropped 2 inches from my waist (a pant size), and have lost 16 lbs.  I am almost the lightest I have been in over 2 years (since a roll-over accident fractured my spine and threatened to end my running for good).  I anticipate that in another couple weeks, when I update my blog again regarding my health efforts, I will be the lightest I have been in 10 years.  And running regularly again.  Last September I struggled through a Tough Mudder, and now I have a goal to be able to race a 10k by the end of the year, and do another Tough Mudder next year, and actually have fun doing it!

toughmudder.jpg

10k

Tough Mudder

Original Post

 

 

One thought on “My Road to a Healthier Life

Leave a Reply

