What Running can do for ADHD

you’ll notice my blogs are not scientifically based, but rather involve my own experiences, and tell my truths as well as I know them.  Something the scientific community has suggested, which I fully believe, is that physical activity is a potent treatment for ADHD and other co-morbid issues such as anxiety and depression…

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Energy.  something we tend to have a lot of (at least until our 30’s).  How I wish now I could get it back. One thing that probably saved me throughout adolescence was running.  I ran and ran, and it was a wonderful outlet.  I was a national competitor when I was 14 (AAU), and an IHSA State qualifier when I was 17.  I ran a half marathon the summer before senior year with a sub-6 minute pace.  As you can tell I am very proud of this.  Having something to work for, something to be proud of, helped me a lot.  There were always times where I felt out-of-place, and I could fall back on what I was good at.  Most of the friends I had were runners who were willing to overlook my weirdness and hyperactivity because I was a valuable asset to the team.  And when they got to know me, none of those things mattered.  Running helped me gain acceptance. Being on the Cross Country team in high school also gave me the camaraderie I needed to cope with the sometimes harsh reality that I’m different.  When I would do something completely foolish, the team was quick to let me know quite frankly, and my feelings wouldn’t be hurt because in the end, they still accepted me on the team.  They said what needed to be said, then moved on.  no grudges.  This is not typically the way ADHD feedback goes.

I digress.
          That’s not all Running did for me.  I clearly had a LOT of energy to burn.  Running gave me the stimulation I needed to get by from day-to-day, especially when I started getting rebellious and not taking my medication.  In fact, when I stopped running, I became an insomniac.  I worked evenings and early AM because I couldn’t sleep.  I stopped running due to tendonitis as well as decreased interest.

But now…. (2013)

Here it is, coming up quickly, the 15th anniversary of that half marathon.  I ran a Tough Mudder last month and it kicked my butt but I finished!  I am running again, sleeping better, and now I’m passing the tradition on to my kids, like my dad did for me.

Last night my 6-year-old ran a mile.  without stopping.  In fact, if she had run it much quicker, I wouldn’t have been able to keep up!  My 3-year-old ran half a mile too!  My kids inspire me to keep running and exercising, so I can continue with them as long as possible!  My 10 yr old is just starting to show an interest as well, and it provides us with some much-needed Daddy-Daughter time with no little sisters hogging the spotlight.

Fast forward again to 2015, and the struggle is real.  I have come to the realization that without regularly established commitments (races) to uphold, I slack off.  I am back down to running no more than 3 miles at a time.  I’m glad I came across this old blog entry, because today I ran 2 miles before work, and I really do feel so much better for it, and this reinforces the reminder that I really do need running, or regular physical activity of any sort, to stay balanced.  I hope anyone who reads this finds the motivation to take care of their physical health, because in-turn it can benefit spiritual and mental health as well.
see the original post here.

Leave a comment