Medication alone is not the answer

So this is another entry that I wrote a year or so ago that I’ve now updated and brought over to WordPress.  It includes an interesting health article I came across and how it applies to my life with ADHD.

I fully believe a healthy diet is important, no matter who you are.  This is especially true for many different disorders.  ADHD being one of them.

I have recently been told (again) that my triglycerides are high and so are my liver enzymes.  this time my Vitamin D is low too..  This was discovered (again) during an annual physical, which I recommend everyone to do EVERY YEAR.  I still haven’t met with the Dr. To discuss a plan of attack, but last time this happened, I was able to get everything under control with exercise and a proper diet.  The Dr., who is typically pretty laid back about my diet, had brought me back into the office for a follow-up, and basically told me that i’m at that point where if I don’t start focusing on my health (mainly diet and exercise) that I could start to see irreversible damage to my liver, among other things.  This was a huge wake up call for me.  This time around, I planned ahead for the physical and still failed.  I had fallen off the wagon and it was time to get back on.  so I did.  I started running again, I started watching my diet.  I started taking a multivitamin every day.  Still my number were not what they should be.  but I’m determined to take my good health further this time.

Since incorporating more fish and berries and leafy greens, and less carbs, sugars, and fruits (aside from berries, obviously) I have noticed my mental health has improved greatly!  ADHD is not something that just goes away, but that hyperfocus is happening more often.  The drive to get things done is more… driven.  My ability to recognize the perspective of those around me instead of just my own has improved.  Of course, the desired benefit of physical health is slowly coming to fruition as well.  All good things.  This happened the first time around, and is true again now.  I’m not even sure how I managed to lose sight of all this.

so here is an interesting article (at least, it was interesting over a year ago, when I first read it) regarding diet and ADHD.  While I wouldn’t go so far as to say the diagnosis of ADHD is devastating, the article in general has some food for thought…

http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/health/nutrition-is-essential-to-keep-adhd-in-check-29582065.html

see the original post here

Leave a Reply

