I forgot my wallet. I forgot it again. Crap, forgot it one more time… all within 30 min.

Sunday, September 15, 2013

Where are my keys? Where is my mind?

Yesterday morning I had a “moment” when I went on a rare doughnut trip with my 3 year old.  We typically eat a more healthy breakfast, but from time to time, it’s nice to have a treat.  I had inadvertently left my wallet in my car the night before, and realized this (thankfully) before leaving in my wife’s car.  I went to mine to get the wallet.  I saw a blanket in the back seat and thought my daughter, Charlotte, would like it  so I took it to her.  We then left for the doughnut shop.  After I had selected my dozen (and biscuits and gravy for my wife) I went to check out and realized… My wallet was still in my car!  So I had them hold my food and drove back home to get my wallet, then back to the doughnut shop to get my food.  I waited in line, then realized… I left my wallet in the car!  So I had to go out to get my wallet and come back in.  in the meantime, someone bought the last of the biscuits and gravy.  So then I had to wait for more.  When they were done, I paid, and back to the car we went.  placed everything in the passenger seat.  No car keys.  I left them on the counter inside!  I went in and got them, and when I got back my wife asked if we had decided to go for a drive.  I had to explain the morning’s events.  We all forget our keys, wallets, etc., from time to time.  Leave it to me to forget wallet and keys multiple times in one trip!  For the longest time after this, I was literally afraid to go out for errands for months after this.

Coming back to this entry, I realize that my absentmindedness has really peaked lately.  I’ve been leaving my wallet home, my coffee, water, anything essential to my drive to work or my actual workday (my wallet has my work ID badge so I can’t get in the building without it).  While it’s only one blog entry, this is one of those things that I do A LOT.  I have taken measures to stop it, but sometimes it’s just inevitable.  I have a little caddie hanging by the door for my wallet, phone, keys, and important mail.
I had thought that one of the greatest tools at my disposal was my training as a runner, and when that subsided just before 20, I really hit a low.  I have recently started running, and I just realized that, when I fall off the wagon, my absentminded tendencies seem to want to make up for lost time.  Hopefully as my running progresses (I am now on wee 4 of a regular running schedule) I can report some more progress…
See the original post HERE
Leave a Reply

