The A.D.H.D. Runner

If you’ve read up on ADHD and fitness, you’ve probably read that a regular fitness routine can help with managing ADHD.  I am a firm believer in this, having been at one time an avid cross country runner.

image

This picture was me at 17, finishing the high school conference meet. I weighed 130 lbs (~59kg). And now I’m twice that age, weighing about 210 lbs (95.25 kg).

image

As you can see, about a month ago I committed to getting back into running and getting in shape, and finally getting bold enough to post a “Before” picture.  I’ve really gotten no where, healthwise, since then.  This is the ADHD conundrum.  There’s a whole lot of psych involved.  I’ve increased my mileage to 3.1 mi (5k) for my long runs.  But I’m not running when I should, skipping days for any excuse I can think of.  So, I joined a group of trail and running enthusiasts on facebook (Trail and Ultra Runners, or TAUR) to leach motivation from them.   Things have gotten a little better, but I’m still not living a healthy lifestyle.  My goal is to get into a running routine, varying my distances and terrain, and working in some weightlifting on my off days.  I want to lose ~50 lbs (~22.5kg) and several pants sizes.  I feel like the only way to hold myself accountable is continuous public commitment.
That’s where you come in.  I am commiting to anyone willing to read about my progress that I will make progress.  Whether you read my blogs to learn about ADHD, or you’re just interested in a (hopefully) inspiring story of growth and development in running, you are my motivation.  Thank you for reading, and I look forward to continuing to have something worth writing about.

Leave a Reply

